KB just dropped his latest LP His Glory Alone to immense critical acclaim. Described as a “trap worship masterpiece,” His Glory Alone is the true epitome of how hip-hop can be worship, not only because of the CCM samples, but how he extends the themes of reverence, awe, and jubilance towards God through lyrical dexterity and the production itself.

Undoubtedly, another reason why listeners are resonating with this project is that this is the first album he’s dropped since 2017. It hasn’t been a complete famine though, as KB dropped several singles in between Today We Rebel & His Glory Alone (not to mention delivering some powerhouse features). The tracks are as follows: 

“No Chains” (4/18/18)
“Long Live the Champion (ft. Yariel & GabrielRodriguezEMC)” (7/17/18)
“Die Rich (ft. Ray Emmanuel)” (11/27/18)
“DNOU 2” (4/5/19)
“Hold Me Back” (4/26/19)
“Hold Me Back (ft. Eliud L’Voices, GabrielRodriguezEMC, Niko Eme & Tommy Royale) [Latin]” (7/19/19)
“Lincoln” (9/6/19)

While His Glory Alone stands on its own as a project and is certainly not a lesser album for not having any of the aforementioned songs included, it’s a fun exercise in imagination to picture where the seven singles KB dropped in between projects could fit on His Glory Alone (similar to what I did with Tedashii’s Never Fold).

My proposed additions to the original tracklist are bolded below: 

    1. Let It Reign
    2. DNOU 2
    3. Lil Boy
    4. 10K
    5. This Is Life
    6. Die Rich ft. Ray Emmanuel
    7. Armies
    8. Masterpiece
    9. Long Live the Champion ft. Yariel & GabrielRodriguezEMC 
    10. Libre ft. Tommy Royale
    11. No Chains
    12. Yes Song
    13. Dark Skin ft. Black Violin
    14. Hold Me Back
    15. We Right Here
    16. Loyal Til The End
    17. Lincoln
    18. The Name ft. Koryn Hawthorne
    19. Hold Me Back (ft. Eliud L’Voices, GabrielRodriguezEMC, Niko Eme & Tommy Royale) [Latin]
    20. Sí Canción ft. Blanca & Musiko

This is: His Glory Alone: Reimagined


“DNOU 2” 

The original “DNOU” opened up Today We Rebel with a ferocity and energy that made you stand up a little straighter. “Let It Reign” is already a strong opening and acts as on overall thesis statement for the album, but “DNOU 2” slots in nicely right after. “Let It Reign” is bombastic but welcoming, inviting listeners to the larger themes of worship on His Glory Alone and in many ways, “DNOU 2” acts similarly; in verse 2 of the track KB spits: 

“I’m not the paper
I’m not the sales
I’m not the likes
I’m not the favors
I’m not the streams
I’m not the cable
I’m not gon’ fight for seats, I bought the table, God is able”

This diatribe describing what he is not is perfectly balanced by his declaration of who God is and who he is in relation to Him in “Let It Reign”: 

“Never finna change, take it to the grave, I be honest (Yeah, yeah)
We see the dead raised here, another day at the office (Ayy, ayy)
Holy, holy, I’ma burn for the Father
Gathered ’round the fire, it’s Benihana
Free, free, we the sons and the daughters
Remember Him then my name is forgotten”

“DNOU 2” also serves as a spiritual prequel of sorts to “Lil Boy” where KB articulates the pedagogy and example he wishes to set for his sons in that the energy KB carries about how he is defined by his relationship with God overshadows all other identities. 

“Die Rich” 

While I hate to break up the trilogy of worship-trap in the form of “10K,” “This is Life,” & “Armies” slotting KB’s collab with Ray Emmanuel before “Armies” also creates a new unofficial trilogy. “This is Life” speaks to KB embracing his purpose on Earth worshipping God just as creation does; thus because he knows this is his life, he can comfortably “Die Rich” (in the treasures he has in Christ). Sometimes, the tracklist tells its own story (not to mention how “10K” and “Die Rich” are all money-themed titles). 

“Long Live the Champion (ft. Yariel & GabrielRodriguezEMC)” & “No Chains”

The second unofficial trilogy of songs are “Long Live the Champion,” “Libre,” and “No Chains,” all centering around the freedom found in Christ (libre literally translates to “free.”) Tommy Royale’s verse on “Libre” likewise meshes well with GabrielRodriguezEMC’s verse. 

“Hold Me Back” 

One of my favorite parts of the album is the mood switch from the more somber “Black Skin” to “We Right Here.” KB does not shortchange pressing into frustration and pain but he channels that lament into a defiant anthem. He states he is here to stay and while the world may demonize black skin He knows it is beautiful and an expression of His Creator’s love. “Hold Me Back” slots nicely with “We Right Here” as a one-two punch of holy frustration and divine defiance. 


Without a doubt, “Lincoln” is one of KB’s best songs to date (TrueGawd’s reaction to the beat switch is everything) and honestly is one of the hardest to place because it is such a manifesto of a song. “The Name” serves a nice conclusion of original songs (“Sí Canción” after all is just a repurposing of “Yes Song”) so having “We Right Here,” “Loyal Til the End,” and “Lincoln” back to back acts as a crescendo to an epic (albeit more worshipful) conclusion in “The Name.” 

“Hold Me Back (ft. Eliud L’Voices, GabrielRodriguezEMC, Niko Eme & Tommy Royale) [Latin]”

Just as “Sí Canción” is a recapitulation of “Yes Song,” the Latin remix of “Hold Me Back” serves as a new extension of track 14. I still love the way “Sí Canción” ends the project on a worshipful note (nicely bookending “Let It Reign”). 

There you have it: His Glory Alone by KB with all of his other singles added in a logical and streamlined format. How would you add KB’s singles into the final tracklist of His Glory Alone? Sound off in the comments!