Hector Dominguez (fka Witness): The release date, cover & tracklist of ‘Misunderstood’

Chicago-based artist Witness announced this week that he has changed his stage name to his real name, Hector Dominguez, and he also revealed when his next project will drop.

On Jan. 17, Dominguez will release a free EP titled Misunderstood – The Story of Hector Dominguez.

“These last two years of my life have been the most challenging for me,” he said. “Both my wife and my father almost died within this time frame. I was ex-communicated from my community/fellowship group, and it caused me to really take a good look at my life.

“It was during this time that I started realizing things about myself and realized that God didn’t create me to impress anybody else. God created me to reflect him with my life, my wife, my children, my art, my walk and this is what I hope to communicate with my music. I’m giving you guys my all [on] this project, and if you rock with me after this, I really appreciate you. If you don’t get [it], it’s cool, I guess I’m just misunderstood! Music should be a reflection of who you are, and I am Hector Dominguez, and this is my story.”


  1. Dennis Rodman (prod. OnBeatMusic)
  2. Misunderstood (feat. J. Carter) [prod. DFree]
  3. Bar Exam (feat. Matt Tisdale, Cutright, A. Ward, Loso & DJ Wade-O) [prod. DFree]
  4. Interlude (prod. D.Lylez & OZ)
  5. No Regrets (feat. D.Lylez) [prod. DFree & Mpax]
  6. Hope feat. Abby Valdez) [prod. DFree]
  7. Marathon (feat. Amberlea) [prod. DFree & D.Lylez]
  8. Outro (feat. Hillyana) [prod. DFree]

David Daniels
David Daniels
David Daniels is a columnist at Rapzilla.com and the managing editor of LegacyDisciple.org. He has been published at Desiring God, The Gospel Coalition, Christianity Today, CCM Magazine, Bleacher Report, The Washington Times and HipHopDX.

Most Popular