The Village Church Releases New Hip-Hop Influenced Album

Infusing traditional worship songs with spoken-word poetry and a hip-hop influence, The Village Church announces the release of a new album, Raging Strong. It is available to download on iTunes and Amazon now.

Raging Strong creates the imagery of God as a warrior, fighting for our joy and His glory. Much of the album’s vision and direction was spearheaded by Isaac Wimberley, the worship pastor at the Dallas Northway campus of The Village. The issue of spiritual warfare covers much of Raging Strong’s content – what it is, who God is in it and what our role is as well. The songs cry out for the Lord’s nearness in the midst of that battle.

“Our hope and prayer for this record is to teach, to encourage and also to push back darkness in our cities by proclaiming the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ,” Wimberley said. “We’re excited for the album’s gospel message of hope and for the style of music that we’ve been able to use.”

1. Battle Cry (feat. Isaac Wimberley and Tedashii)
2. The Claim (feat. Isaac Wimberley)
3. Raging Strong (feat. Isaac Wimberley)
4. Warrior (feat. Isaac Wimberley)
5. Weary Soul (feat. Isaac Wimberley)
6. Saints Say (feat. Isaac Wimberley)
7. Seek the Lord (feat. Isaac Wimberley)
8. Nearness (feat. Taylor Roark)
9. Abide (feat. Isaac Wimberley and Taylor Roark)
10. Benediction (feat. Isaac Wimberley)

For the latest news and details on Raging Strong, check The Village Church website and the album microsite.

The Village Church ( is a gospel-centered, multi-site church in the Dallas-Fort Worth area with campuses in Flower Mound, Denton and Dallas. Matt Chandler is the lead teaching pastor of the church, where weekly over 10,000 people gather to worship in 12 services.

What do you think?


Written by Steven

Steven is Christian Hip-Hop's Wizard of Oz, breaking more unsigned talent than anyone you know.

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Wes Pendleton & Tragic Hero ‘The Resistance’ EP Tracklisting with Snippets

Applejaxx – Got Jesus ft. Odetta