Review – Frontlynaz – Game Over

Frontlynaz Inc - Game Over LP

Groups like Frontlynaz are the reason I’m so mad that Christian music doesn’t have more exposure or the respect it deserves. And if you’ve never heard of the Fronlynaz consider this your official introduction. Bringing a decidedly West Coast awareness to their East Coast style, “Game Over” is an album that is steeped in urban culture, boasts solid production, and offers hard-hitting lyrics that actually have substance. Not to mention, these boys walk and spit with a grace-saturated swagger that is a feast for the ears.  

{loadposition user201}

“Clap At Em” starts out and sets the tone for the album. Rigz guests on the track and his presence adds a certain measure of depth. “Like Dat” sounds like it could have been produced by Sean “P. Diddy” Combs, but it features a decidedly Christian message. Title track “Game Over” boasts a crisp beat while slowing things down a bit for the listener. “Gunz Down” bangs. No pun intended. Okay, pun intended. Taking a look at the consequences of foolishly trying to live a gangsta lifestyle, Frontlynaz show it for what it really is—dumb. “Friends No More” is a piece that speaks about what it is like to turn to Christ and lose one’s friends in the process. “Worship,” Da Banga,” and “Lyna Anthem” are all dope and merit multiple spins.  “Lights Out” is the hardest-hitting track on the album. “Witness This” calls out thug rappers who have inundated the culture with mindless messages that have made today’s youth act mindlessly. It had me laughing and contemplative at the same time.  

There are only a few tracks that didn’t resonate with me, such as “Survival Of The Fittest” and “Day By Day.” They might sit well with others, but they just seemed to pale in comparison to the rest of the album, lyrically and musically.  

“Game Over” is an album that belongs in your collection. These talented emcees are poised to take over the Christian rap world if they continue making music like this. They’ve got the talent and cultural sensibilities of acts like Black Eyed Peas and Mos Def and the delivery of 4th Avenue Jones or L.A. Symphony.   

Release Date: April 9, 2008

Record Label: Indie

Track Listing

  1. Intro
  2. Clap At Em
  3. Like Dat
  4. Game Over
  5. What I See
  6. Gunz Down
  7. what u lookin 4
  8. Imagine
  9. Friends No More
  10. Worship
  11. Survival of the Fittest
  12. Day By Day
  13. Da Banga
  14. Under Attack
  15. Lights Out
  16. Lyna Anthem
  17. Witness This
  18. Bloodsport


Written by Rapzilla

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings


The Rebirth Video World Premiere


Holy Hip Hop Award Honorees 2009