Review – Propaganda – I Am Not Them

Buy the CD


So far the Tunnel Rats' VII series hasn't really lived up to all the hype. It was supposed to be a seven track EP released every seven weeks. That was back in 2005, and only Macho and Dokument released their EPs. Album number three didn't even drop until summer 2006, but it's definitely one worth noting. Which EP was that? It's Propaganda's VII series EP titled I Am Not Them. Even with this album being released so late and not getting much attention, this is not an album that should be slept on, especially considering how prolific an emcee Propaganda is.

Getting to the music, it quickly starts off with the track "Like Whoa" featuring the Lightheaded crew. This track is pure energy as Prop and Lightheaded simply bring the heat. There is simply no better way than to start an album this short than with a track like this that immediately draws you in and keeps you "Locked In" for the remainder of the project. As you give the album a listen, you notice quite a few things. The first thing you notice is that Propaganda's love for the gospel and Jesus Christ is spread all throughout this album, even though it takes a close listen to catch some of it. "Son" is one of those songs where he talks about when he first decided to rap and the advice that he was given; it is advice that every Christian emcee needs to take into consideration. The next thing you'll notice is the earth shattering production that is supplied for each and every track. Producers like Donovan Luke Henry, Dert and Hillsyde really show off their abilities on this project, just as much as Propaganda does with his lyrical prowess. The final thing that you'll notice about this album is the multitude of guest emcees that make an appearance. Now, this is a seven song EP, so there is only so much room on the album, but if you look there are more than ten emcees who drop a verse alongside the headliner. For this to be a solo EP, I really would have liked to have heard more from Propaganda, and less from everyone else who made an appearance.

In all, Propaganda put together a very solid effort, and by far the best of the VII series thus far. The lyricism and passion is undeniable, and the production is simply bananas. Even with the downer of having too many guest emcees, this is still a memorable project and one that you need to have in your hands, especially if you're a fan of the Tunnel Rats or just good music in general. In some ways I wish this weren't an EP because it truly left me wanting to hear more. I guess I'll just have to wait around for the next VII series installment; regardless, props go to Propaganda. 




Song Selection





Overall Quality

Label: Tunnel Rats Music

Release Date: 11 July 2006


Written by Rapzilla

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings


New Pigeon John Video


Review – Grits – Redemption